The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation 27th Annual Brown Award

1177 West Loop South, Tenth Floor
Houston, Texas 77027

MAY 18, 2020


The date for submission for the twenty-seventh annual Brown Award has been extended to June 30, 2020.

The requirement that the paper be submitted by a law student currently enrolled in an accredited law school in the United States seeking a J.D. or LL.B degree has been amended to allow submission from students who graduated in 2020 from an accredited law school in the United States with a J.D. or LL.B degree.

All other requirements set for below are still applicable.

The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation is pleased to announce the twenty-seventh annual Brown Award. The Award honors excellence in legal writing in American law schools. Any law student currently enrolled in an accredited law school in the United States seeking a J.D. or LL.B degree is eligible to submit a paper for the Award. The amounts awarded for 2020 will be as follows:

$10,000 First Place,
$5,000 Second Place,
$3,000 Third Place,
$1,000 Finalist,
$1,000 Finalist, and

$5,000 to the Scholarship Fund selected by the Dean of
the law school in which the First Place candidate is enrolled.

In order to be considered, two copies of a current legal writing must be submitted to the Foundation c/o Kenneth G. Engerrand, Brown Sims, P.C., Tenth Floor, 1177 West Loop South, Houston, Texas 77027-9007. The article must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation from a law school faculty member or legal professional other than the author of the paper. Only one paper may be submitted on behalf of any student, and only one paper may be sponsored by any faculty member or legal professional. The submission must be postmarked no later than May 29, 2020. The submission must contain a separate sheet containing the title of the paper; the name, physical address, telephone number, and email address of the student; and the name, title, physical address, and email address of the student’s sponsor. There is no page limitation or restriction on the topic except that the writing must be on a legal subject. Papers that have been submitted to a law review for publication are eligible, but the submission must be of the paper in its form before it was edited by anyone other than the author.

The Foundation will appoint a final judging panel consisting of a law school dean, a federal judge, and a law school professor. The Foundation will not return any material submitted to the Foundation. The 2020 recipient of the Brown Award will be notified by December 4, 2020, and listed with the other finalists at the website:

The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation is pleased to announce the winners for the 2019 Brown Award for Excellence in Legal Writing.

First Place:

When Does “Currently” Using No Longer Apply? The Americans with Disabilities Act, the Opioid Crisis, & the Search for a Solution by MJ Egan (sponsored by Adjunct Professor Brandy L. Wagstaff, George Mason University School of Law).

The winner, MJ Egan, will receive $10,000, and a donation of $5,000 will be made to the scholarship fund designated by the Dean of George Mason University School of Law.

Second Place (tie):

Left with No Name: How Government Action in Intra-Church Trademark Disputes Violates the Free Exercise Clause of the First Amendment by Mary Kate Nicholson (sponsored by Professor Christopher B. Seaman, Washington & Lee University School of Law).

Mary Kate Nicholson will receive $5,000.

Second Place (tie):

Masterpiece Cakeshop; A Formula for Legislative Accommodations of Religion by Matthew A. Brown (sponsored by Dean Christopher J. Peters, University of Akron School of Law).

Matthew A. Brown will receive $5,000.


Cryptocurrency and the SEC: How a Piecemeal Approach to Regulating New Technology Selectively Stifles Innovation by Adam J. Kuegler (sponsored by Professor Kiel Brennan-Marquez, University of Connecticut School of Law); Oil-Rich and out of Options: Venezuela’s International Arbitration Saga of Expropriation, Enforcement, and Settlement by Kristin Kluding (sponsored by Professor Denney L. Wright, University of Houston Law Center).

Adam J. Kuegler and Kristin Kluding will each receive $1,000.

Kenneth G. Engerrand
Trustee, The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation

Comments are closed.